Argh…. sleep deprivation

October 11, 2006

I’ve heard that some artists use sleep deprivation as a tool for creativity. Well now that Gemma is 12 days old, I can safely say that most (but not quite all) creative juice has been sapped from my body. Now, I shouldn’t complain, I know. My poor wife is the one who suffers most, what with the midnight, 2am, 4am, 6am feedings. But being the dutiful father that I am, I’ve taken on the roll of diaper changer and burper.

I’ll add that to the CV.

 Two of my pieces, “Gate III” and “Notice”, have been accepted into the Burlington Fine Arts Association’s annual juried exhibition. Juror Barry McCarthy gave an informative talk on his selections and hey, if you’re asking and getting $10,000 for your paintings, I’m all ears!

If you’re in the Burlington area, drop in and see the exhibition – Burlington Art Centre, AIC Gallery, 1333 Lakeshore Road, Burlington, Ontario, (905) 632-7796 – October 14 – November 19, 2006

webready_gateiii_watermk_72dpi.jpg  “Gate III” (c) 2006 by Gordon Leverton

“Notice” (c) 2006 by Gordon Leverton  “Notice” (c) 2006 by Gordon Leverton

6 Responses to “Argh…. sleep deprivation”

  1. Maggie Says:

    Gord, Gord . . . you just aren’t sleep deprived enough yet. By the time that Gemma is 1 month old, you’ll be deprived enough to get hallucinations as your body tries to recreate dreams while you’re awake . . . that’s when the art becomes interesting!

  2. jafabrit Says:

    well you asked for comments, so here I am from wc (no not the loo 😉 wet canvas)

    congrats on getting two pieces into a juried show, that is brill.

    all the best

  3. leverton Says:

    I spend way too much time on Wet Canvas, not to mention the loo! 😉

    cheers,
    Gord

  4. Megan Wolfe Says:

    Wow, I was just casually browsing Wetcanvas (I’m a lurker), stumbled onto your blog, and noticed that I’m linked! 😀 That’s so cool, it makes my day. I linked back to you too. 🙂 Congrats on the new baby also!

  5. leverton Says:

    hiya, megan – i only link to sites that i like, so the honour is all mine!

    we could always form a mutual admiration society and tell each other how great we are?!

    cheers,
    gord

  6. Megan Wolfe Says:

    Haha, yeah, we should do that. 🙂 I bet other people would join in.

    Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

