Of babies and art shows… and a touch of pneumonia

October 3, 2006

How much fun can I pack into one week?

On Friday, Sept. 29 at 1:05am (eastern) my wife Nancy gave birth to a baby girl, Gemma Leverton, tipping the scales at 7lbs, 4oz. Mom and baby are both home and healthy, though sleep is at a premium!

Nancy, being the super wife that she is, literally pushed me out of the hospital room so that I could attend the opening of the Society of Canadian Artists 39th open juried show at Todmorden Mills Museum in Toronto. I was excited and honoured that my drawing, “Passage 1” was accepted into the competition and although it didn’t earn a prize, the “competition” was exceptional – well done, SCA!

picture-003small.jpgpicture-004small.jpgpicture-017small.jpg

 The pneumonia thing? Yeah, I left work last week after an extreme coughing fit, only to find out at the walk-in clinic that I have pneumonia. Great. So, it will be 10 days off work (doctor’s orders) and plenty of rest and liquids. The bright side of course, is that I can hang out at home with Gemma!

 Todmorden Mills MuseumGemma's 1st day

2 Responses to “Of babies and art shows… and a touch of pneumonia”

  1. Big Sis Says:

    Can’t tell you how extremely proud I am of you. Such a wonderful accomplishment …well two really… being chosen to exhibit and Gemma!! You are so very talented Gord. I just know that someday you will be discovered. Keep the faith! Love, Christine.

  2. Big Sis Says:

    Can’t tell you how extremely proud I am of you. Such a wonderful accomplishment …well two really… being chosen to exhibit and Gemma!! You are so very talented Gord. I just know that someday you will be discovered. Keep the faith! This is just the beginning. Love, Christine.


Leave a Reply

